Best for small must for all
Home city guide administration in leh

Administration in Leh

Ladakh, which was earlier a single region with Leh as its capital, is divided into two districts namely Kargil and Leh in 1979. In terms of total area, Leh ranks the 2nd largest district of India, the first one being the Kutch District. Leh is surrounded by Kargil District in the west and Lahul-Spiti in the south. It shares border with Xinjiang of China and has Ghanche District of Gilgit Baltistan in its north. Tibet and Aksai Chin are located on the east of Leh. Till 1st July, 1979, Ladakh was controlled by the administrative headquarters located at Leh, the then capital of Ladakh. After Kargil, Leh District is the 2nd least populous area of Jammu Kashmir State.

Administrative Services in Leh

For administrative purpose, Leh District is divided into 17 blocks and these blocks are again sub-divided into panchayats to have better administrative control at the root level. Leh District has 6 Tehsils which are Kharu, Leh, Nyoma, Durubk, Khalsi and Nubra. There are 2 assembly constituencies in Leh namely Leh and Nobra. Administration of Leh District is controlled by Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, an elected body. This body was set up in the year 1995.


LAHDCLAHDC stands for Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council. This autonomous body is comprised of thirty councilors. Out of these 30 councilors, 26 members get elected and four are nominated members. The executive wing of this autonomous council is comprised of an executive committee which has Chief Executive Councilor as the head along with 4 executive councilors. Earlier the logo of this autonomous body was a Buddhist symbol, 8-armed wheel which is replaced by the new logo, the three head lion of Ashoka Stambha.

LAHDC was constructed with an aim of having more and more participation of local people in the development process of this region. This decentralization of development and planning process ensured that more common people are working at the grass root level and all the work done is for the betterment of Leh. This autonomous hill council works within the democratic boundaries. In 2013, a workshop/discussion was organized based on the Vision Document, Vision 2025 which is a joint project of LAHDC and NABRD. The vision document was prepared in 2005. 

Here is the list of councilors of LAHDC:

Mr. Rigzin Spalbar
Chief Executive Councilor
Phone no.:
9419 179 006 / 01982 252 212 / 01982 252 090 

Dr. S. Wangchuk
Executive Councilor
Phone no.: 
9419 815 767 / 01982 252 026 

Mr. Gurmet
Executive Councilor
Phone no.:
9419 178 984

Mr. Simrandeep Singh
Deputy Commissioner/ Chief Executive Officer
Phone no.:
9419 257 870 / 01982 252 010
Fax: 0198 252 106

Prisons in Leh

The Prison department of Jammu and Kashmir has Inspector General, Prisons as its head. This department is responsible for controlling and supervising all the jails of Jammu & Kashmir State. Safe custody of prisoners is the prime responsibility of the Prison Department of the state. The department also looks after reform and rehabilitation activities of the prisoners. Leh houses one district jail. Jammu & Kashmir has 2 Central jails, 8 district jails and 3 sub jails and the total capacity of all these jails is about 2775.

Courts in Leh

Leh Ladakh District Court was established in 1978 in December month. The complex of District Court is located in Leh. It has two courts-Chief Judicial Magistrate Court and Sessions Court.

Court in Leh

Here are the contact details of important judiciary people:

Principal District & Sessions Judge: 01982 252 277/ 255 859
Chief Judicial Magistrate: 9419 208 777 / 01982 252 366
Prosecuting Officer: 01982 254 951

Law and Order in Leh

Law and order in Leh is looked after by the police department that works directly under Police Department of Jammu and Kashmir State. General Law & order, traffic control and disaster management are the duties of police department of the district. Main Police Station of Leh is located in the main market area.

Here is the contact information of Leh Police Department:

Superintendent of Police: 01982 252 200 / 9419 088 661
Leh Police Station: 01982 252 108 / 01982 254 881

Government Offices in Leh

Different Government offices in Leh are listed below:

Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council

Mini Secretrait Complex,
Leh Ladakh - 194101
Phone no.: 1982 252 212
Opening Hours: Monday to Saturday 10:00 am to 04:00 pm (Sunday Closed)

Post Office

Leh Ladakh - 194101
Phone no.: 1982 252 015 / 1982 252 056
Opening Hours: All days in a week 09:00 am to 05:30 pm

Post Office - Padum

Mane Ringmo,
Leh HO,
Leh Ladakh - 194101
Phone no.: 1982 252 060
Opening Hours:
Monday to Saturday 10:00 am to 04:00 pm (Sunday Closed)

State Speed Post Centre - Pulwama

Leh HO,
Leh Ladakh - 194101
Phone no.: 6561 241 390
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 10:00 am to 05:00 pm & Saturday 10:00 am to 05:30 pm (Sunday Closed)

State Speed Post Centre

Leh HO,
Leh Ladakh - 194101
Phone no.: 3262 352 015
Opening Hours:
Monday to Saturday 10:00 am to 05:00 pm (Sunday Closed)

  • E-mail

Comments / Discussion Board - Administration in Leh